Home > Tips, Troubleshooting > Hardware Driver Updates via DriverMax

Hardware Driver Updates via DriverMax

I’ve been trying out the “free” DriverMax program to update hardware drivers and so far it’s been outstanding!

http://www.innovative-sol.com/drivermax/

The reason I tried it is that I had some serious issues with Adobe’s CS4 and Acrobat programs with some Dell computers at a client’s office.  After trying the normal updates and reinstalls to no avail, I updated all the hardware drivers with DriverMax and the Adobe issues disappeared!

If you try it and like it, let me know – likewise if you find an issue with DriverMax, I’d like to know that as well.

Categories: Tips, Troubleshooting
  1. johndinz
    March 6, 2009 at 12:24 am

    Ok, I tested…and:
    1. no (Vista/XP) 64 bit support
    2. you must register within 30 days (I’ve read in many places on the ‘net that after you register with them they trashed your inbox big time)
    3. you MUST create user account to be able to scan.
    4. they regi you to a forum w/o asking
    5. if you dont validate your name, no scanning, and the app deactivated.
    6. popular video card/processors/etc section – clicking on it nothing happened, what is it anyhow?
    I’m not impressed. I will stick to the RadarSync Free Edition.

  2. practicallyit
    March 6, 2009 at 8:06 am

    Thanks for the input John! I was also very put off about the requirement to register. So far, at least as far as I can tell, I haven’t received any additional emails as a result. I’ll certainly post an update if I do see an uptick in email from it.

    Thanks for the RadarSync tip. I’ll check it out immediately!

  3. jill
    March 8, 2009 at 12:01 am

    I had a similar spam problem with drivermax and was put off by that. Just tried RadarSync ( http://www.radarsync.com ) and liked it a lot.

    • practicallyit
      March 8, 2009 at 2:44 pm

      Thanks for the feedback Jill. I’m going to try RadarSync as soon as I can squeeze it in.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

