Home > Tips, Troubleshooting > RadarSync vs DriverMax

RadarSync vs DriverMax

I finally had time to try out RadarSync this morning and there are pluses and minuses:

+ It finds updates to software as well as hardware.  Drivermax only does hardware.

+ It doesn’t appear to require registration for the free version.

+/- It downloads the driver updates to separate folders that you need to open and run the update manually.  An advantage to this method is that you can copy the folder to a central location so you can update multiple machines with the same hardware/software.

The major minus that I found was that while RadarSync found an update for the video and sound card, DriverMax found an additional, more current, update for the video card, and it also found major updates to the chipset and SATA system as well as a minor update to the NIC.

In the final analysis, I have to go with DriverMax.  I’m not too concerned with most software updates – I’m much more concerned with getting the hardware drivers current.  The concern with DriverMax is the registration requirement.  If that bothers you, then use a knock-off email address to register and you should be ok. 

It’s been about three weeks, and as far as I can tell, I haven’t been inundated with spam from the DriverMax publisher, Innovative Solutions.  I do receive a newsletter from them, I believe weekly, but there’s an opt-out option that I haven’t taken advantage of yet.

Categories: Tips, Troubleshooting
  1. gsr
    March 15, 2009 at 9:25 pm

    I tried DriverMax and all it did was show a list of drivers and showed which ones were current and which ones had newer versions. BUT — no matter what I did, it would only download a file with the name of the driver (some type of dmx-info) that never gave me the actual driver. So – it wasn’t very useful to me.
    Also, it may listed a bunch of drivers, but when I compared that list to the list on Gateways website they were not at all the same, so I’m very suspicious.

  2. practicallyit
    March 16, 2009 at 7:05 am

    You have to run the little file that it downloads and then the “downloader” will give you the option of installing the driver updates once it downloads them.

    As I said in my review, one of the downsides is that it kind of hides the actual installation files, so you can’t use them on multiple computers like you can RadarSync, but for my purposes, it’s fine.

    See my new blog post for your second point.

  3. devlin19
    March 16, 2009 at 8:27 am

    once you run the “downloader” you can install the driver updates. it is a little more work but is still effective

    http://update-your-drivers.blogspot.com/2009/01/update-your-drivers-fast-easy.html

  4. David Nuriel
    March 16, 2009 at 1:59 pm

    I use RadarSync for over 6 months. I can say only good things, actually. Great time-saving (bc I don’t need to search for drivers over the ‘net myself). No screweups – got good VGA and sound card new versions. I learned abt new skype and ad-aware through RadarSync. It’s also free now so…good value, I recommend.

    As for DriverMax – they are known to be spammers, I don’t even want to take the risk. Besides, they don’t have 64bit support, and I am 64bit.

    • August 6, 2010 at 7:08 pm

      I keep reading about Radarsync being free, but I haven’t found it to be so.

  5. razel
    March 19, 2009 at 5:40 pm

    I’ll stay with my RadarSync… It works well, and I do not see any reason to replace it with the Max thing.

    • practicallyit
      March 19, 2009 at 6:24 pm

      If it works for you, you can’t ask for more than that!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

